Elvis has left the building Sept 15

THE BOURSE WHISPERER: The regular game of musical chairs
continues within the boardrooms across the resources industry. The
Whisperer pokes his head down the corridors of power to take a quick
look at some of the chairs to have recently been vacated and to find out
which ones have been filled:

Appointment of CEO and MD

Paramount Mining Corporation has appointed Terry Holohan to the roles of chief executive officer and managing director.

Holohan has previously held the positions of head of exploration and development, and before that, chief operating officer, at Platmin Limited.

Prior to his roles at Platmin, Holohan was senior vice president at Ivanhoe Nickel and Platinum, and has held various positions in metallurgy and operations management at Anglo American Platinum, BHP Minerals Zimbabwe, Impala Platinum and Golden Dumps.

Board Changes

Rubianna Resources advised the market of the following changes to its Board of directors.

Len Skotsch, the company’s current CEO and managing director, will be leaving the company after a three month transition period.

Alex Nutter, founding chairman of the company, has resigned from the Board for personal reasons.

Terry Smith, a director of the company, has accepted the position of non-executive chairman.

Gordon Dunbar has accepted an offer to act as a non-executive director of the company.

Appointment of new Directors

Rey Resources has appointed Brett Clark and Lex Graefe as non-executive directors with effect from 1 October, 2011.
Clark currently advises Murchison Metals on its major JV projects and has previous director or executive experience with Wembley Resources, Tethyan Copper, Ernst and Young, Snowden Group, Rio Tinto/Hamersley Iron and Western Mining.

Graefe has previously held the role of CFO/company secretary for Sphere Resources and has also held senior leadership roles with Shield Mining, Resolute Mining, Rio Tinto Indonesia and Rio Tinto India.

Graefe also held a number of management, commercial and financial roles with Hamersley Iron.

Alan Humphris, who has been a non-executive director since July 2004 and James McClements, who has been a non-executive director since August 2007 will resign from the Board on 1 October 2011.

Changes at Board level

Richard Wolanski has resigned as a non-executive director of Equator Resources.
The company also announced the appointment of Rhod Grivas as non-executive chairman.

Grivas has held a number of director and management positions with publicly listed mining and exploration companies including ASX and TSX listed gold miner Dioro Exploration NL prior to the Avoca takeover in early 2010.

He is also non-executive chairman of Canyon Resources and Lodestar Minerals, executive director of Southern Crown Resources and non-executive director of Coventry Resources.

Appointment of Managing Director

Legacy Iron Ore has appointed John Hebenton as managing director.

Hebenton was appointed as an executive director with immediate effect, prior to taking up his responsibilities as managing director on or before 10th October 2011.

Hebenton was managing director of Nimrodel Resources, where he was responsible for the management and development of uranium, precious metals, base metals and silicon exploration projects in Kyrgyzstan and Australia.

Management Update

Unity Mining announced that Rod Hanson, the company’s managing director & CEO, has decided to stand down from his position when an orderly transition to a new managing director & CEO can be completed.

The company said this is currently envisaged to occur by 31 December 2011.

Hanson has held the roles of managing director & CEO since early 2007 and has led Unity through a period of development, diversification and rebuilding, including the acquisition of the Henty Gold Mine in Tasmania and a significant investment in West African gold exploration through GoldStone Resources.

The company’s chief financial officer & company secretary, Tim Churcher, recently tendered his notice of resignation to pursue another opportunity.

Rod Lester, the company’s commercial finance manager, will succeed Churcher as company secretary.

New Board appointment

Gold miner Lachlan Star has appointed Scott Perry to the Board of Directors in a non-executive role.

Perry is currently the executive vice president and chief financial officer of Toronto and New York-listed Aurico Gold.

Tom Duckworth has resigned from the Board as a non-executive director in accordance with his retirement plans.

Duckworth has been a Board member since 2007.

Executive Director Mining Appointment

Citigold Corporation has appointed Dr. Brian White as executive director of mine operations.

White, currently a non-executive director, is a mining engineer with professional career covering all facets of the minerals industry.

His experience includes operational management, project development, planning, and design and consultancy in gold and base metals in both surface and underground mines in many parts of the world including the Ashanti gold reef mine in West Africa.